Pirates v Brewers, PNC Park, 7/17-18-19/2017

7/17, Monday

For this series versus the Brewers my goal was to make it to 200 baseballs by the end of the month, starting this series with 187.  The weather continued to be warm and sunny with no threat of rain.

Andrew Mccutchen has been on fire at the plate lately, resurrecting his season and revitalizing the Pirates to the point where we currently stand 5 gb the Brewers.  Currently, the Pirates have won two straight against the Brew Crew and are currently tied with them in game 3 of the series.

Mccutchen went away from LF for a bit of time but has came back to mashing a lot of homers into the LF bleachers.  During this series, with two bp’s (todays Pirates bp cancelled due to heat) versus the Brewers I came away with a total of 4 hit balls by Cutch, 2 scrummed, 2 on the fly.

I got on the board with an on time Heberto Andrade toss up for Ball #1, followed by two scrums off Cutch homers, Ball #2-3.

Max Moroff, who has been struggling with the Pirates hit a long ball to the LF bleachers close to the foul pole which was an easy catch, Ball #4.

I finished up with a scrum on the crosswalk behind the CF seating and a scrum back over in LF from an unidentified Brewers in the third group, Ball #5-6.

7/18, Tuesday

Again, Heberto Andrade with the on time toss up which has been four in a row in the home stand, Ball #1.

Followed by, two caught Cutch homers on the LF crosswalk, for Ball #2-3.

I scrummed a ball up on the LF crosswalk for Ball #4.

Toss ups with the road gear have continued to be difficult, but I was able to catch a toss up in Brewer gear from an unidentified Brewers who tossed one to me that I didn’t request.  Two kids in the front row were nagging him, I don’t know if he overthrew them or threw it to me because of the irritating kids.  Erik J deserved an assist though as I was turned around when the ball was thrown until he alerted me to it.  Ball #5.

Ball #6 was a scrum on the LF crosswalk which has been a good place for me through out the home stand for caught homers and scrums.

7/19, Wednesday

Standing at 199 for the season, I needed one ball to meet my goal of finishing July with 200 balls, with one more possible game in Cleveland on 7/25.

Sadly, the Pirates bp was cancelled due to heat, on Buccaroo kids day which gets all kid members into bp early once a month.  Too bad for the kids, it was too hot for Clint Hurdle to hold an on field bp.

So the place was flooded with kids, and extra crowded for a Wednesday evening game.

Things looked pretty shaky for a while, the Brewers were poor from the plate again, and toss ups were tough with the big crowd.

Although I would come up short on my idea to play Eric Thames homers on the river walk, on the way over, I noticed a baseball in the visitors pen.  While considering to ask the grounds crew worker for a toss up, a long homer was smacked into the Pirates bullpen.  I gave both the workers a good heads up, and was rewarded with a toss up from below, which was my only baseball of the day and got me to the goal of 200 baseballs by the end of July.

Series-13

Year-200

Career-3075

 

Leave a Reply

